Award Winners

Studer / van den Berg

Studer / van den Berg, Passage Park #5: Beeline, 2016, interactive projection, Screenshot, © Studer / van den Berg

The jury of the Pax Art Awards honours Monica Studer (1960 in Zurich) and Christoph van den Berg (1962 in Basel) for their broad oeuvre of the last decades, which has always been distinguished by the unique use of digital tools. Using game engines, computer renderings, digital real-time environments, internet-based spaces, interactive installations, VR applications and artificial intelligence, the artists design, create and construct mixed-media setups for digital utopias. These scenarios enable the spectator to enter unusually featured virtual environments, inviting them to find themselves in these hybrid spaces.

Studer / van den Berg explore the digital as a new aesthetic for environmental and spatial delight, using the possibilities of these technologies to explore the limits of the digital experience and how they are conveyed in today’s culture. Their digital canvases are striking for the typified forms of simple or amorphous nature. An undercurrent of artificiality illustrates the fantasies spawned by technical breakthroughs, whose cultural interpretations have yet to be defined. Throughout their career Studer and van den Berg seem to always question the fact that we no longer live in the «real» physical world, and that there is a pervasive sense that the digital has taken over, harnessing the influence of computing and network technologies that have transformed our lives. Furthermore, through their work they enquire as to how far technology can go into the representation of the real, or wether nature can manifest itself through the unreal touch of technology.

In their installations of the Passage Park series (2014 – 2017), a body of work comprising several interactive scenes, objects of various kinds are selected as if from a stockpile and placed randomly in the scenes to reveal a bizarre and unusual atmosphere to the users.

Throughout their artistic work, Studer / van den Berg seem to constantly question the possibility that we no longer live in the “real” physical world and that there is a pervasive sense that the digital domain has taken over, harnessing the influence of computer and network technologies that have transformed our lives. Their work also asks how far technology can enter into the representation of the real, or whether nature can manifest itself in an unreal connection with technology.

Awards

Tokyo Wonder Site Residency 2013 | Landis & Gyr Studio London 2004 | Swiss Art Awards 2000 | Atelier Mondial Helsinki 1998 | Cité Internationale des Arts 1997 | Artist grant City of Basel 1997 and 1993 | Alexander Clavel Foundation Prize 1995 | Artist grant Canton of Lucerne 1993

Exhibitions

2019 Biennale Karachi | ZKM Karlsruhe | MMOMA Moscow | Fondation Beyeler, Riehen | Kunsthalle Mainz | S.M.A.K. Gent | NEoN Digital Arts Festival, Dundee | Kunstmuseum Thun | MARTa Herford | Edith-Russ-Haus, Oldenburg | Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg | Frac Alsace, Sélestat | Kunsthaus Zürich | Viper Basel | Kunstmuseum Solothurn | BALTIC, Gateshead | 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa | Swiss Pavilion, World Exposition 2005, Aichi | Jiff Mind Festival, Jeonju | Aargauer Kunsthaus, Aarau | Centre culturel suisse, Paris | Kunstverein Hannover | Villa Merkel, Esslingen am Neckar | Arteplage Murten, Expo.02 | Kunsthaus Baselland, Muttenz | Steirischer Herbst, Graz | Kleines Helmhaus, Zurich | Centre d’Art Contemporain, Genf

Back To Top

Maria Guta

Maria Guta, Commercial Break, 2020, Screenshot, © Maria Guta

The Pax Art Awards jury is pleased to award Maria Guta (1983 in Rumania) with one of two Pax Art Awards for an upcoming voice in media arts in Switzerland. Guta’s work is centred around mechanisms of self-representation. She places herself both behind and in front of the camera, perpetually constructing and curating alternate cyber identities. Her video work Commercial Break (2020) is a commercial of a fictitious company that offers identity alternatives for exclusive customers. Everything is possible here: teleportation, body optimization, extended brain capacity. Her work humorously refers to the constant pressure of personal staging and self-representation in the social media of our contemporary digital society. We are both the actors in and directors of our own cyber identities.

In her works, Guta explores the possibilities and boundaries of photography, performance, installation, social media and immersive digital tools. Guta is well versed in the world of VR, having previously been curator of the annual summit of the World VR Forum in Crans-Montana, Switzerland. One of their recent interactive and immersive virtual reality (VR) installations. Interlooped (2019), was screened at Sundance Film Festival and Locarno Film Festival last year. It is a multi-user live VR experience where users can interact in real time with the performance artist’s body. Holograms of both bodies are transmitted live into the virtual space and multiplied until it is difficult for attendees to tell which person is real. Guta is well versed in the world of VR, having previously curated the annual summit of the World VR Forum in Crans-Montana, Switzerland.

With subtle humour and a precise insight into the mechanisms of self-representation, she creates situations in which the concept of identity can be explored.

Performances

New Frontier, Sundance Film Festival, Park City | Geneva International Film Festival (GIFF), Geneva | Backslash Festival, Zürich | Shape Platform (Scena 9), Bucharest | World VR Forum, Crans Montana

Exhibitions

Locarno Film Festival | Swissnex, San Francisco | Scena 9, Bucharest | LAC Local d’Art Contemporain, Vevey | Istituto Svizzero, Milan | SomoS Art House, Berlin | Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne | Porny Days, Film Kunst Festival, Zürich | Réunion (ECAL), Zurich | Nicolas G. Hayek Center, Tokyo

Back To Top

Simone C Niquille

Simone C Niquille, Homeschool, 2019, Screenshot, © Simone C Niquille

The jury of the Pax Art Awards 2020 is pleased to award the prize for emerging talents in media art to the Swiss artist Simone C Niquille (1987 in Zug). Her work unfolds like a playfully critical investigation into the digital tools which increasingly shape our physical world and the assumptions, prejudice and other abstractions feeding into the datasets which allow these tools to function. Her work Homeschool (2019) is an animation based on the investigation of synthetic training data sets for indoor computer vision. Safety Measures (2018) examines the history and future of ergonomic software and standardized human mass. This work was commissioned for the 16th Architecture Biennale in Venice.

In several long-term projects, which are both profound research initiatives and bold, aesthetic experiments, Niquille investigates, as she puts it, “the digitalization of biomass” – that is, the increasing influence of the digital on our spatial being and our physical self. She defines domestic space as the frontline of this uncertain tussle, and consequently explores it through uncanny visual and filmic proposals which craftily retro-engineer computer vision to reveal the inevitably limited assumptions that allow it to see, shape, and act in our living spaces. The artist draws on her deep-rooted knowledge of the various strands and historical layers of popular visual culture that have shaped our images of domestic space, making it often difficult for viewers to distinguish representation from reality.

With a touch of slapstick, as well as sleek design, architectural advertising materials, and dry yet informative, scientific and technical video documentaries, Niquille adds an extra bite to her work, which is one of the most profound explorations of the impact of digital tools on our lives today.

Awards

Housing The Human, Project Grant | E-Culture Grant 2018 and Talentontwikkeling 2016 /  17, Stimuleringsfonds Creative Industrie | Research Fellowship, Het Nieuwe Instituut | Fast Co Design Innovation Awards, «Experience» Category Finalist, RAM House 2015 | ICON Eye, Top Installations, Salone del Mobile 2015, RAM House | Het Nieuwe Instituut Hot100, Top e-culture graduates 2013

Exhibitions

Tetem, Enschede | Dutch Pavillion, 16th Venice Architecture Biennale | La Gaîté Lyrique, Paris | Swissnex San Francisco | Istanbul Design Biennale 2018 | IMPAKT Festival, Utrecht | AND Festival, Peak District | TodaysArt, Den Haag | Het Nieuwe Instituut, Rotterdam | ByDesign Film Festival, Seattle | Biennale of Urbanism & Architecture 2015, Shenzhen | Design Miami Basel

Back To Top

Preisträger*innen

Studer / van den Berg

Studer / van den Berg, Passage Park #5: Beeline, 2016, Interaktive Projektion, Screenshot, © Studer / van den Berg

Die Jury der Pax Art Awards zeichnet Monica Studer (1960 in Zürich) und Christoph van den Berg (1962 in Basel) für ihr breites Schaffen der letzten Jahrzehnte aus, das sich stets durch die einzigartige Nutzung von digitalen Werkzeugen ausgezeichnet hat. Mithilfe von Game-Engines, Computer-Renderings, digitalen Echtzeit-Umgebungen, internetbasierten Räumen, interaktiven Installationen, VR-Anwendungen und künstlicher Intelligenz entwerfen, kreieren und konstruieren die Künstler Mixed-Media-Setups für digitale Utopien. Diese Szenarien ermöglichen es den Betrachter*innen, ungewöhnlich ausgestattete virtuelle Umgebungen zu betreten, und laden ein, sich in diesen hybriden Räumen wiederzufinden.

Studer / van den Berg erforschen das Digitale als eine neue Ästhetik für Umwelt- und Raumwahrnehmung. Sie nutzen die Möglichkeiten neuer Technologien, um die Grenzen der digitalen Erfahrung zu erforschen und zu untersuchen, wie sie in der heutigen Kultur vermittelt werden. Ihre digitalen Settings sind geprägt von typisierten Formen einer einfachen oder amorphen Natur. Ein Unterton von Künstlichkeit illustriert die Fantasien, die durch technische Innovationen entstanden sind, deren kulturelle Lesart noch zu definieren ist.

In ihren Installationen der Serie Passage Park (2014 – 2017), eines Werkkomplexes, der aus mehreren interaktiven Szenen besteht, werden Gegenstände verschiedener Art wie aus einem Lagerbestand ausgewählt und nach dem Zufallsprinzip in den Szenen platziert, um den Benutzer*innen eine bizarre und ungewöhnliche Atmosphäre zu enthüllen.

Während ihres gesamten künstlerischen Schaffens scheinen Studer / van den Berg immer wieder die Möglichkeit infrage zu stellen, dass wir nicht mehr in der «realen» physischen Welt leben und dass es ein allgegenwärtiges Gefühl gibt, dass das Digitale die Oberhand gewonnen hat, indem es sich den Einfluss von Computerund Netzwerktechnologien zunutze macht, die unser Leben verändert haben. Darüber hinaus fragen sie in ihrer Arbeit danach, wie weit die Technologie in die Darstellung des Realen einfliessen kann oder ob sich Natur in einer unwirklichen Verbindung mit Technologie manifestieren kann.

Preise

Tokyo Wonder Site Residency 2013 | Landis & Gyr Studio London 2004 | Swiss Art Awards 2000 | Atelier Mondial Helsinki 1998 | Cité Internationale des Arts 1997 | Artist grant City of Basel 1997 and 1993 | Alexander Clavel Foundation Prize 1995 | Artist grant Canton of Lucerne 1993

Ausstellungen

2019 Biennale Karachi | ZKM Karlsruhe | MMOMA Moscow | Fondation Beyeler, Riehen | Kunsthalle Mainz | S.M.A.K. Gent | NEoN Digital Arts Festival, Dundee | Kunstmuseum Thun | MARTa Herford | Edith-Russ-Haus, Oldenburg | Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg | Frac Alsace, Sélestat | Kunsthaus Zürich | Viper Basel | Kunstmuseum Solothurn | BALTIC, Gateshead | 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa | Swiss Pavilion, World Exposition 2005, Aichi | Jiff Mind Festival, Jeonju | Aargauer Kunsthaus, Aarau | Centre culturel suisse, Paris | Kunstverein Hannover | Villa Merkel, Esslingen am Neckar | Arteplage Murten, Expo.02 | Kunsthaus Baselland, Muttenz | Steirischer Herbst, Graz | Kleines Helmhaus, Zurich | Centre d’Art Contemporain, Genf

Back To Top

Maria Guta

Maria Guta, Commercial Break, 2020, Screenshot, © Maria Guta

Die Jury der Pax Art Awards freut sich, Maria Guta (1983 in Rumänien) mit einem von zwei Pax Art Awards für eine aufstrebende Stimme in der Medienkunstszene der Schweiz auszuzeichnen. Im Zentrum der Arbeit von Guta stehen Mechanismen der Selbstdarstellung. Sie platziert sich sowohl hinter als auch vor der Kamera und konstruiert und kuratiert fortwährend alternative Cyber-Identitäten. Ihre Videoarbeit Commercial Break (2020) ist ein Werbespot eines fiktiven Unternehmens, das Identitätsalternativen für exklusive Kunden anbietet. Hier ist alles möglich: Teleportation, Körperoptimierung, erweiterte Gehirnkapazität. Ihre Arbeit verweist humorvoll auf den ständigen Druck der persönlichen Inszenierung und Selbstdarstellung in den sozialen Medien unserer heutigen digitalen Gesellschaft. Wir sind sowohl die Akteure als auch die Regisseure unserer eigenen Cyber-Identitäten.

In ihren Arbeiten lotet Guta die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von Fotografie, Performance, Installation, sozialen Medien und immersiven digitalen Werkzeugen aus. Eine ihrer jüngsten interaktiven und immersiven Virtual-Reality-(VR-)Installationen. Interlooped (2019), wurde im letzten Jahr am Sundance Film Festival sowie am Locarno Film Festival gezeigt. Es handelt sich um eine Multi-User-VR-Live-Erfahrung,bei der die Benutzer*innen in Echtzeit mit dem Körper der Performance-Künstlerin interagieren können. Hologramme beider Körper werden live in den virtuellen Raum übertragen und vervielfältigt, bis es für die Teilnehmer*innen schwierig ist, zu erkennen, welche Person die reale ist. Guta ist in der Welt der VR gut bewandert, da sie früher Kuratorin des Jahresgipfels des World VR Forum in Crans-Montana in der Schweiz war.

Mit subtilem Humor und einem präzisen Einblick in die Mechanismen der Selbstdarstellung schafft sie Situationen, in denen der Begriff der Identität erforscht werden kann.

Performances

New Frontier, Sundance Film Festival, Park City | Geneva International Film Festival (GIFF), Geneva | Backslash Festival, Zürich | Shape Platform (Scena 9), Bucharest | World VR Forum, Crans Montana

Ausstellungen

Locarno Film Festival | Swissnex, San Francisco | Scena 9, Bucharest | LAC Local d’Art Contemporain, Vevey | Istituto Svizzero, Milan | SomoS Art House, Berlin | Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne | Porny Days, Film Kunst Festival, Zürich | Réunion (ECAL), Zurich | Nicolas G. Hayek Center, Tokyo

Back To Top

Simone C Niquille

Simone C Niquille, Homeschool, 2019, Screenshot, © Simone C Niquille

Die Jury der Pax Art Awards 2020 freut sich, den Preis für aufstrebende Talente im Bereich Medienkunst an die Schweizer Künstlerin Simone C Niquille (1987 in Zug) zu vergeben. Ihre Arbeit entfaltet sich wie eine spielerisch-kritische Auseinandersetzung mit den digitalen Werkzeugen, die unsere physische Welt zunehmend prägen, und den Annahmen, Vorurteilen und anderen Abstraktionen, die in die Datensätze einfliessen, die das Funktionieren dieser Werkzeuge ermöglichen. Ihre Arbeit Homeschool (2019) ist eine Animation, die auf der Untersuchung von synthetischen Trainingsdatensätzen für Computer Vision in Innenräumen basiert. Safety Measures (2018) untersucht die Geschichte und die Zukunft ergonomischer Software und standardisierter menschlicher Masse. Die Arbeit wurde für die 16. Architekturbiennale in Venedig beauftragt.

In mehreren Langzeitprojekten, die sowohl tiefgreifende Forschungsinitiativen als auch freche, ästhetische Versuche sind, untersucht Niquille, wie sie es ausdrückt, «die Digitalisierung der Biomasse» – das heisst den zunehmenden Einfluss des Digitalen auf unser räumliches Sein und unser körperliches Selbst. Sie definiert den häuslichen Raum als Frontlinie dieses Gerangels und erforscht ihn in Videoarbeiten, die geschickt rekonstruieren, welche Annahmen es Bilderkennungssystemen erlauben, in unsere Lebensräume zu sehen, sie zu gestalten und darin zu interagieren. Die Künstlerin greift dabei auf ihre tief verwurzelte Kenntnis der verschiedenen Stränge und historischen Schichten der visuellen Populärkultur zu, die unsere Bilder von häuslichem Raum geformt hat, sodass es den Betrachtenden oft schwerfällt, Darstellung und Realität auseinanderzuhalten.

Mit einem Hauch von Slapstick sowie mit elegantem Design, ArchitekturWerbematerialien und trockenen, jedoch informativen, wissenschaftlichen und technischen Video-dokumentationen verleiht Niquille ihrem Werk, das zu den tiefgründigsten Erkundungen des Einflusses digitaler Werkzeuge auf unser heutiges Leben zählt, den zusätzlichen Biss.

Preise

Housing The Human, Project Grant | E-Culture Grant 2018 and Talentontwikkeling 2016 / 17, Stimuleringsfonds Creative Industrie | Research Fellowship, Het Nieuwe Instituut | Fast Co Design Innovation Awards, «Experience» Category Finalist, RAM House 2015 | ICON Eye, Top Installations, Salone del Mobile 2015, RAM House | Het Nieuwe Instituut Hot100, Top e-culture graduates 2013

Ausstellungen

Tetem, Enschede | Dutch Pavillion, 16th Venice Architecture Biennale | La Gaîté Lyrique, Paris | Swissnex San Francisco | Istanbul Design Biennale 2018 | IMPAKT Festival, Utrecht | AND Festival, Peak District | TodaysArt, Den Haag | Het Nieuwe Instituut, Rotterdam | ByDesign Film Festival, Seattle | Biennale of Urbanism & Architecture 2015, Shenzhen | Design Miami Basel

Back To Top